Sarimah’s Take

Source here.

On P. Ramlee

“He is a real artiste. His work was his life. He left no material wealth behind except his works. When he was on the set as director, he was very serious. There was no hanky panky.

“Once when he was directing a comedy, he was so angry when he found the actors clowning around. He immediately called the production team to pack up and cancelled the shoot.

“But when he was not working, he was funny. He was also a very humble person. He easily mingled with everyone. I remember he came to my house once and calmly started to chew ‘sirih’ with my mother while chatting with her.”

On playing other roles

I once played a villain’s role in a movie, but the studio received a lot of letters from my fans who said they disliked me playing such a role. Since then, the studio stopped giving me the villain’s role.”

Leave a Reply

